Harvard University - Department of Molecular & Cellular Biology


April 15th, 2013

(l to r) Katherine Xue, Janet Song, and Rachel Moda

On behalf of the entire Department, I would like to extend my heartfelt congratulations to the following students who were recently awarded a graduate fellowship from the National Science Foundation:

Meng Xiao He, MCB '11
Undergraduate thesis title: "Functional characterization of a putative H3K4 methylation genetic network"
Faculty sponsor:  Fritz Roth

Tomasz Kula, MCB '12
Undergraduate thesis title: "Developing a genetic approach to induce Trichomonas Vaginalis Virus infection in T. vaginalis"
Faculty sponsor:  Max Nibert

Rachel Moda, Neurobiology '13
Undergraduate thesis title: "Characterizing transcriptional regulation of the DYT6 dystonia gene, THAP1"
Faculty sponsor: Cristopher Bragg

Janet Song, CPB '13
Undergraduate thesis title: "Investigation of candidate molecular controls over segmental specificity of corticospinal motor neurons during development"
Faculty sponsor:  Jeffrey Macklis

Katherine Xue, CPB '13
Undergraduate thesis title: "Ploidy-Specific Variation of ASYNAPSIS1 in Arabidopsis arenosa"
Faculty sponsor:  Kirsten Bomblies

Congratulations to you all, and best wishes for your future endeavors!

Catherine Dulac
Chair, Department of Molecular and Cellular Biology
Higgins Professor of Molecular and Cellular Biology
Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator


For further information:
National Science Foundation’s Graduate Research Fellowship Program

Complete list of awardees