Harvard University COVID-19 updates

Department News



complete list of names below

Eight undergraduates concentrating in Chemical and Physical Biology (CPB), Molecular and Cellular Biology (MCB), or Neurobiology received awards for their theses in May 2013.

Six undergraduates win Hoopes Prizes

The Thomas Temple Hoopes Prize, a Harvard College-wide honor, was established in 1982 to “grant awards to undergraduates on the basis of outstanding scholarly work or research.” The Hoopes Prize particularly recognizes scholarly writing and presentation.  Each of this year’s 81 winners receives a cash award of $4,000.  Their nominators receive $1,000.  The CPB, MCB and Neurobiology concentrators who won a 2013 Hoopes Prize are:

Deutsch, Aaron Jonathan (CPB) for his submission entitled “Modification of Stress Granule Assembly During Caspase Mediated Apoptosis” – nominated by Professor Judy Lieberman

Devine, Christopher Austin (Neuro) for his submission entitled “Investigating the fidelity of axolotl forebrain regeneration” – nominated by Professor Jeffrey Macklis

Kim, Seungsoo (CBP) for his submission entitled “Alternating Antibiotic Therapy Can Slow the Evolution of Resistance” – nominated by Professor Roy Kishony

Meixiong, James (MCB) for his submission entitled “The critical role of host lipid metabolism in determining the infectivity of Hepatitis C virus” – nominated by Dr. Raymond Chung

Smart, Alicia Caitlin (MCB) for her submission entitled “Identification of CEP-701 as a Small Molecule Regulator of Satellite Cell Proliferation through High-Content Screening” – nominated by Professor Lee Rubin

Stein, Elliot Joshua (MCB) for his submission entitled “The transcription factor BATF3 may be a novel regulator of angiogenesis and breast cancer progression: An in vitro and in vivo study” – nominated by Dr. Marsha Moses and Dr. Di Jia

Emily Breslow wins the 2012-2013 John E. Dowling Thesis Prize

Prof. John Dowling (l) and Emily Breslow

The John E. Dowling Thesis Prize was established in 2012 to commemorate the retirement of Harvard scientist, teacher, and Neurobiology Head Tutor John E. Dowling. This award marks outstanding scientific achievement in the field of Neurobiology. The awardee receives a framed certificate and a $500 prize.

The 2013 John E. Dowling Thesis Prize was awarded to Emily Breslow for her thesis “Sensitivity of Human Circadian Clock to Phase-Resetting Stimuli: Interactions of Melatonin, Light, and Sleep.”  Emily performed her thesis research in Professor Elizabeth Klerman’s lab in the Division of Sleep Medicine at Brigham and Women’s Hospital.

James Meixiong wins the 2012-2013 Lawrence J. Henderson Prize

The Lawrence J. Henderson Prize is awarded to the student who submits the most meritorious thesis to the Board of Tutors in Biochemical Sciences.  The recipients receive a $500 book award, a framed certificate, and a copy of “Fitness of the Environment” by Professor Lawrence J. Henderson (1878-1942).

The 2013 Lawrence J. Henderson Prize was awarded to James Meixong for his thesis “The critical role of host lipid metabolism in determining the infectivity of Hepatitis C virus”.   James’s research was supervised by Drs. Raymond Chung and Lee Peng, who are both affiliated with the Gastrointestinal Unit at Massachusetts General Hospital.

Katherine Xue wins the 2012-2013 Bowdoin Prize in the Natural Sciences

The Bowdoin Prizes recognize “essays of originality and high literary merit, written in a way that engages both specialists and non-specialists”.  Established in 1810, the Bowdoin prizes are considered among Harvard’s oldest and most prestigious student awards, and have been awarded to many notable Harvard students, including Ralph Waldo Emerson, Arthur M. Schlesinger, and John Updike.  There are two categories for the undergraduate prizes:  the Bowdoin Prize in the English Language and the Bowdoin Prize in the Natural Sciences.  Each winner receives a cash award of $10,000. 

CPB concentrator Katherine Xue was awarded the 2012-2013 Bowdoin Prize for her essay “Polyploidy in Arabidopsis arenosa: A case study in the Evolutionary History of Natural Variation”.  The essay was adapted from her senior thesis, which is based on research she conducted in Professor Kirsten Bomblies’s lab.